The snow keeps on fallin’, even though we were bad

I’ve been on the hunt for good Christmas music over the last few days. The radio is increasingly playing the annual ear-bleeding rubbish which usually starts creeping into the playlists around the middle of November, and it’s driving me mad. Therefore, I decided to hunt out some half-decent “alternative”Christmas music. Alternative in this sense really means little-heard rather than true alt music.

My selection is below, have I missed anything good?

1. Snowman – Barenaked Ladies

“Button eyes, lullabys, I melt away. Criticized, compromised white turns to grey. I’m paralyzed, otherwise I’d leave today. Button eyes, lullabys, I melt away…”

2. I Won’t Be Home For Christmas (Please Post My Bail) – Blink-182

“It’s Christmas time again, it’s time to be nice to the people you can’t stand all year. I’m growing tired of all this Christmas cheer. You people scare me, please stay away from my home.”

3. I Want An Alien For Christmas – Fountains of Wayne (This one is for Cabbage!)

“I want an alien for Christmas, bring me an alien this year. I want a little green guy about three feet high with seventeen eyes.”

4. 2000 Miles – KT Tunstall

“In these frozen and silent nights, sometimes in a dream, you appear outside under the purple sky. Diamonds in the snow sparkle, our hearts were singing, it felt like Christmastime.”

5. Christmas Morning – Loudon Wainwright III

“So we watch the buildup, here we go again, there is sand, there are camels, but where are the wise men? Are they in Baghdad, are they in Washington?”

6. Merry Christmas (I Don’t Want To Fight Tonight) – The Ramones

“I love you and you love me, and that’s the way it’s got to be. I loved you from the start, ’cause Christmas ain’t the time for breaking each other’s hearts.”

7. Did I Make You Cry On Christmas? (Well You Deserved It!) – Sufjan Stevens

“I stay awake at night after we have a fight. I’m writing poems about you, and they aren’t very nice.”

8. Christmas At The Zoo – The Flaming Lips

“There wasn’t any snow on Christmas Eve, and I knew what I should do. I thought I’d free the animals all locked up at the zoo. I opened up the fence where the peacocks were, the lamas were unleashed. The snakes and seals could all get out, but they refused to leave…. “

9. Father Christmas – The Kinks

“Father Christmas, give us some money, we got no time for your silly toys. We’ll beat you up if you don’t hand it over, give all the toys to the little rich boys.”

10. A Christmas Duel – The Hives and Cyndi Lauper (This is like a more offensive Fairytale of New York…)

“I married you last year, bet you thought I was sober, right? But I was drunk as a skunk and I made a mistake, this could all have been over.

Ah honey please don’t excuse your behaviour, ’cause I hired a hitman and changed your will.”

This link for the Christmas Playlist Blog should take you to Spotify to have a listen. Never let it be said that I’m not getting into the Christmas spirit, in my own special way!

I’ve excluded from the list any Advent or Christmas hymns, because I’m sure to miss things I love out when I don’t have a hymn book to hand.

Their wasn’t any snow on Christmas eve and I knew what I
should do, I thought I’d free the animals all locked up at the zoo
I opened up the fence where the peacocks were, the lamas were
unleashed the snakes and seals could all get out, but they
Refused to leave….
One response to “The snow keeps on fallin’, even though we were bad

  1. Ha! Grumpy indeed. I sympathize entirely. And how coincidental – I was just looking for something “Christmassy” and can’t abide the usual radio output.

Leave a Reply

